GATHER-final-ORANGEWEDNESDAY, MARCH 15 at 6 PM

The MWPA’s GATHER encourages members (and their friends!) to meet and mingle with fellow members in one of thirteen (13!) locations around Maine for camaraderie and conversation. There is no agenda to GATHER besides getting together with your community of fellow writers to talk writing, reading, and life.

While GATHER events are not open readings, manuscript exchanges, organized writing-prompt sessions, they are opportunities for literary-minded folks to meet and plan any of those things, and more!


BANGOR
Host: Robin Wood (mary.robin.wood@gmail.com)
Location: Nocturnem (56 Main St)

BETHEL
Host: Amy Wight Chapman (amy.w.chapman@gmail.com)
Location: Jolly Drayman Pub (150 Mayville Rd)

BIDDEFORD
Host: David Arenstam (david.arenstam@thorntonacademy.org)
Location: Elements (265 Main St)

BRUNSWICK
Host: Cumberland Street Writers (dhgould@gwi.net)
Location: The Brunswick Inn (165 Park Row)

DAMARISCOTTA
Host: Jodi Paloni/Warren Riess (jodipaloni@gmail.com/riess@maine.edu)
Location: Damariscotta River Grill (155 Main St)

FARMINGTON
Host:
Shana Youngdahl (shana.youngdahl@maine.edu)
Location: Homestead (186 Broadway)

LEWISTON
Host: Claire Guyton (cguyton@bates.edu)
Location: She Doesn’t Like Guthrie’s (115 Middle St)

LUBEC
Host: JD Rule/Stephanie Gough (jdrule@lubecscribbler.com / stephgough@gmail.com)
Location: Lubec Brewing Company (41 Water St)

PORTLAND
Host: Frank Smith (frankosmith27@gmail.com)
Location: Flatbread (538 Congress St)

ROCKLAND
Host: Kate Ver Ploeg (kateverploeg@gmail.com)
Location: Rock City Cafe (316 Main St)

SOUTH PORTLAND
Host: Bruce Coffin (brucerobertcoffin@roadrunner.com)
Location: Saltwater Grille (231 Front St)

WATERVILLE
Host: Kate Cone (kateconewrites@gmail.com)
Location: Silver Street Tavern (2 Silver St)

YORK
Host: Marcia Hartwell (marcia.hartwell@wolfson-oxford.com)
Location: The York River Landing (150 U S Route One)

 

*BAR HARBOR, BELFAST, HALLOWELL, MACHIAS, PRESQUE ISLE
There are no Gather meet-ups in these locations this month, but we hope they’ll return soon!


*If you are an MWPA member interested in hosting GATHER in your community—and your community doesn’t neighbor one of our existing locations—please email MWPA’s Hannah Perry at perry@mainewriters.org and include a couple suggestions for a venue in your area.