2016 MLA STICKER WINNERIn 2016, nearly one hundred and forty books were entered across the award’s
categories; compare that to the 2011 awards when seventy books total were submitted. In addition, more than one hundred manuscripts were submitted into the award’s Short Works Competition, and nearly sixty Maine students submitted work in the same categories in the award’s Youth Competition.

+ 2016 Award Winner Interviews To read brief interviews with all of the winners of the 2016 Maine Literary Awards, click HERE.

+ 2016 Awards Ceremony The winners of the 2016 Maine Literary Awards were revealed live at a ceremony on Thursday, May 26 at SPACE in downtown Portland. To view nearly 150 photos of the event, click HERE.

+ 2016 Award Finalists For a complete list of the 2016 finalists, click HERE.

2017 | 2015 | 2014 | 20132012 | 2011

2016 Maine Literary Awards: WINNERS

Book Award for Fiction
Closer All the Time by Jim Nichols

Book Award for Crime Fiction
An Unbeaten Man by Brendan Rielly

Book Award for Speculative Fiction
The Realm of Misplaced Hearts by Rick Hobbs

Book Award for Nonfiction
Love and Other Ways of Dying by Michael Paterniti

Book Award for Memoir
How to Cook a Moose by Kate Christensen

Book Award for Poetry
Little Arias by Kristen Case

Book Award for Young People’s Literature
Either the Beginning or the End of the World by Terry Farish

Book Award for Children’s
The Lemonade Hurricane by Licia Morelli (Illustrated by Jennifer E. Morris)

Book Award for Anthology (Editors)
A Gateless Garden by Liza Bakewell

John N. Cole Award for Maine-themed Nonfiction
Ghost Buck by Dean Bennett

Excellence in Publishing
Historical Atlas of Maine by Stephen J. Hornsby & Richard W. Judd (University of Maine Press)

Drama Award (for film, theater, and other scripts)
Monica Wood

Short Works Competition, Fiction
Douglas W. Milliken

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction
Penny Guisinger

Short Works Competition, Poetry
David Sloan

Youth Competition, Fiction
Greg Nam

Youth Competition, Nonfiction
Emma Levy

Youth Competition, Poetry
Lizzy Lemieux


Presented to MWPA cofounders Agnes Bushell and Lee Sharkey for exceptional and steadfast contributions to the Maine literary arts.

Martha Sawyer Community Library in Lebanon