The Maine Literary Awards is an annual competition sponsored and coordinated by the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance. Nominations are open to all Maine residents, including seasonal residents. The statewide competition is for published books, as well as drama, short works (either published or unpublished), and student writing. Maine writers may self-nominate, or be nominated by others.

2015 Award Finalists For a complete list of the 2015 finalists, click HERE.

2017 | 2016 | 2014 | 20132012 | 2011

2015 Maine Literary Awards: WINNERS

Book Award for Fiction
Let Me Be Frank With You Richard Ford

Book Award for Crime Fiction
And Grant You Peace Kate Flora

Book Award for Nonfiction
The Footloose American: Following the Hunter S. Thompson Trail Across South America Brian Kevin

Book Award for Memoir
The Prince of los Cocuyos Richard Blanco

Book Award for Poetry
Otherwise Unseeable Betsy Sholl

Book Award for Young People’s Literature
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill Megan Frazer Blakemore

Book Award for Children’s Literature 
Adventures in Vacationland Mark Scott Ricketts

Book Award for Anthology (editors)
The Story I Want to Tell The Telling Room

John N. Cole Award for Maine-themed Nonfiction
Island Naturalist Kathie Fiveash

Excellence in Publishing
Before We Eat (Tilbury House) Pat Brisson

Drama Award (for film, theater, and other scripts)
Hugh Aaron

Short Works Competition, Fiction
CB Anderson

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction
Lesley Heiser

Short Works Competition, Poetry
Rachel Contreni Flynn

Youth Competition, Fiction
Emily Noyes

Youth Competition, Nonfiction
Faris Baziga

Youth Competition, Poetry
Alicia Thurston


Presented to Longfellow Books co-founder Stuart Gersen (1951-2015) for exceptional and steadfast contributions to the Maine literary arts. The award was accepted by his children, Ari and Julia Gersen.

Webster Free Library in Kingfield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *