2014 MLA STICKER WINNERThe Maine Literary Awards is an annual competition sponsored and coordinated by the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance. Nominations are open to all Maine residents, including seasonal residents. The statewide competition is for published books, as well as drama, short works (either published or unpublished), and student writing. Maine writers may self-nominate, or be nominated by others.

+ 2014 Award Finalists For a complete list of the 2014 finalists, click HERE.

20172016 | 2015 | 20132012 | 2011

2014 Maine Literary Awards: WINNERS

Book Award for Fiction
Sparta Roxana Robinson

Book Award for Crime Fiction
Sunrise Al Lamanda

Book Award for Speculative Fiction
Seventeen: Book One Mark D. Diehl

Book Award for Nonfiction
The Sea and Civilization: A Maritime History of the World Lincoln Paine

Book Award for Memoir
Why We Make Things and Why It Matters Peter Korn

Book Award for Poetry
In Someone Else’s House Christian Barter

Book Award for Children’s
You’re Wearing THAT to School?! Lynn Plourde
(with illustrations by Sue Cornelison)

Book Award for Young People’s Literature
Out of Nowhere Maria Padian

Book Award for Anthology
E.B. White on Dogs Martha White

New England Gardener’s Year Reeser Manley & Marjorie Peronto

Book Award for Excellence in Publishing
Maine (Island Time) Elizabeth W. Garber & Michael Weymouth

Short Works Competition, Fiction
Deborah H. Gould

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction
Mira Ptacin

Short Works Competition, Poetry
Christopher Robley

Youth Competition, Fiction
Grace Whited

Youth Competition, Nonfiction
Toby Choyt

Youth Competition, Poetry
Tessa Holbrook


2014 MWPA Distinguished Achievement Award
Presented to journalist and writer Bob Keyes for exceptional and steadfast contributions to the Maine literary arts. The award was presented by Aimsel Ponti.

Special “Trifecta” Citation
For placing as a finalist in Youth Fiction for 2012, 2013, 2014
Elysia Roorbach

2014 Book Donation Recipients
Cherryfield Free Public Library