PrintThe Maine Literary Awards is an annual competition sponsored and coordinated by the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance. Nominations are open to all Maine residents, including seasonal residents. The statewide competition is for published books, as well as drama, short works (either published or unpublished), and student writing. Maine writers may self-nominate, or be nominated by others.

+ 2011 Award Finalists For a complete list of the 2011 finalists, click HERE.

20172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 20132012

2011 Maine Literary Awards: WINNERS

Book Award for Fiction
Father of the Rain Lily King

Book Award for Nonfiction
Settled in the Wild Susan Hand Shetterly

Book Award for Poetry
Penetralia Richard Foerster

Book Award for Young Adult Literature
Touch Blue Cynthia Lord

Book Award for Children’s Literature
The Fish House Door Robert F. Baldwin (author) and Astrid Sheckels (illustrations)

Anthology Book Award
Maine in Four Seasons Wesley McNair (editor)

Excellence in Publishing Award
Phantom Noise by Brian Turner (Alice James Books)

Drama Award
Stigmata Carolyn Gage

Short Works Competition, Fiction
Maggie Butler

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction
Charles Stanhope

Short Works Competition, Poetry
Alice Bolstridge

Youth Competition, Fiction
Hila Shooter

Youth Competition, Nonfiction
Fadumo Issack

Youth Competition, Poetry
Jeremy Colson


MWPA Distinguished  Achievement Award
Presented to poet Robert Chute for exceptional and steadfast contributions to the Maine literary arts. The award was presented by fellow poet Wesley McNair.
Maine State Library profile